Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercooling | Water/Methanol Injection

Methanol injection questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2006, 01:52 PM
TECH Senior Member

Default Methanol injection questions

I'm about to fire up a meth kit on the fiance's turbo car, but I've never done this before. I have NO idea where to start on how much alky is needed. Anyone have some guidelines?

This is on a 370cid motor, 9.3:1 compression, 76mm turbo, and and air/air intercooler up front. Right now the motor is tuned VERY conservatively -- 13 to 15 degrees of timing, 9 to 11 lbs. of boost, and around 11.8 to 12.2 AFR on 93 octane gasoline.

The kit is from FJO racing, and their software can map the flow based on pretty much any criteria you can think of (map vs tps vs rpm etc). Problem is, I'm looking at tables full of zeros
Old 03-28-2006, 08:22 AM
Teching In

How is the car tuned...I mean do you have the software to tune the car? Reason I ask, if you use meth you are going to see the a/f ratio about 1 point richer. If you won't have a way to tune the car when you install the injection system I might suggest using straight water. You won't get quite the results you would with a meth/water mix, but still see improments in inlet temps.

I used straight water for 1 season in my car. Unfortunately, I didn't have the ability to log any of the passes I made w/ it.

The next season I used windshield washer fluid so I wouldn't have to mix the meth/water. It worked very well. My combo was a stock 4.6L DOHC motor w/ a non-intercooled Vortech with 11-12# of boost. On the 2 step I would see inlet temps close to 200° on a cool day. Once the injection would kick on they would start dropping, by the end of the track they would be as low as 94°. Pretty impressive in my mind.
Old 03-28-2006, 11:32 AM
TECH Senior Member

I have everything needed to tune everything. Currently the stock PCM is controlling everything EXCEPT fueling -- that is handled by a piggybacked Megasquirt.